15 Comments

  1. I really, really hate to be the dorky a-hole to do this since I LOVE this poster you made, but that map is the modern map. I’m sure you know this, and I know it’s really hard to find the original Monroeville Mall layout, but there was an ice rink where the food court is now. There’s even a scene using the rink. and there was a Gimbles instead of a Macy’s, I’m pretty sure.

    Also, it would be really cool to incorporate the fish pond into the legend, since that’s a fairly known scene and it’s still in the mall… I do like the simplicity of your map though and it would be fine to leave it as-is…

  2. I think one of those stores was a “Horne’s” too, but I don’t recall what end of the mall it was. I agree with Brittany, the Food Court was a ice rink. I think the other store was a Kaufmann’s.

  3. When DotD was filmed, the Macy’s was Kaufmann’s, the Boscov’s was Horne’s, and the Penney’s was Penney’s. The lower level where the Gap shows on the above map would have been the G.C. Murphy’s, and the fish pond was outside that.

    There are a couple other problems that I notice even if we’re looking at a current layout. There’s no western entrance on the lower level of the mall where the food court (nee Ice Palace) is, and the Gap stores are on the upper level.

    Here’s an actual current directory for anybody who’d like to do more research/piecing together:

    http://www.monroevillemall.com/shop/monroeville.nsf/directory

    Photo of the rink from the upper level

  4. Pingback: Via The Wire
  5. Pingback: mudl.us

Leave a comment